Go to content Go to menu

ETCC pole decided by 0.012s around 25.278km!



Petr Fulín claimed pole position for FIA ETCC Race of Nürburgring Nordschleife by an incredibly small margin of just 12 thousandths of a second around the 25.278-kilometre circuit.

The battle for pole came down to Fulín – the double winner at the opening round of the year at Paul Ricard – versus Kris Richard – who won both races in round two at the Slovakia Ring.

Fulín achieved a best lap of 9m20.045s in his Krenek Motorsport SEAT Léon, with Richard recording a 9m20.057s in his Rikli Motorsport Honda Civic.

After leading Free Practice 2, Norbert Nagy took third in his Zengő Motorsport SEAT ahead of the similar Lema Racing-run car of Igor Stefanovski. Following encouraging performances earlier in the week in the brand new Peugeot 308 Racing Cup, Teddy Clairet finished up fifth, just 0.056 seconds behind Stefanovski in another close margin.

Fulín’s team-mate Chrisjohannes Schreiber was sixth ahead of the other Peugeot of David Pouget, followed by Fábio Mota and Mladen Laluśić. Peter Rikli did not set a time.

Niklas Mackschin took pole in Super 1600, but having been over half a minute clear in Free Practice 2, he was only 0.787s faster than debutant David Griessner.

Griessner’s ETH Tuning Peugeot 207 team-mate Andreas Rinke was next ahead of Master KR Racing Ford Fiesta duo Pavlo Kopylets and Sergii Kravets.

Ulrike Krafft and Ksenia Niks both crashed their Fiestas, with Krafft, a regular race winner in the S1600 category, requiring a visit to hospital for precautionary checks.