Go to content Go to menu

ETCC standings: who tops the class battles?



Following a thrilling start to the FIA European Touring Car Cup season in Hungary, here is a round-up of who is on top in the highly-competitive classes. 

The ETCC is split into four classes, each with their own separate rankings. This means that there is no overall title, but instead four champions at the end of the year.

These come from the headlining TC2T class (for 1.6-litre turbocharged cars), as well as the TC2 class (2.0-litre normally-aspirated), the Super 1600 category (1.6-litre normally-aspirated) and the Single Make Trophy, which adopts the brand new Seat León Cup Racer as standard.

After the first two rounds at the Hungaroring, Georgia’s Davit Kajaia leads TC2T by six points, driving for the well-known Engstler team, after claiming maximum points in both races.

In TC2, Czech driver Michal Matejovsky (pictured) leads by just one point, having taken maximum points in the opening race and finishing as runner-up in race two.

Germany’s Niklas Mackschin was the only driver to take a clean sweep of the maximum points available, dominating the S1600 action to lead by five points.

In the Single Make Trophy, Ferenc Ficza from Hungary is tied on 18 points at the head of the standings with Serbia’s Dusan Borkovic, with both drivers winning a race apiece. However, with Ficza not currently planning on contesting the whole championship, Borkovic is the effective leader.